Thomas Marriott: Trumpet Ship (album review by Christa V.)

Marriott is a prolific trumpet player and composer, here he plays with Orrin Evans on piano, Luques Curtis on bass, and Mark Whitfield Jr. on drums. This whole album was recorded in one day, mostly first takes! It consists of five of Marriott’s tunes, plus “All the Things You Are,” “General Assembly,” and “Trumpet Ship.” Throughout the whole album the quartet’s chemistry and experience shine through! The feature is the trumpet, of course, but many introductions to songs and solos feature the rhythm section which creates a lovely contrast and atmosphere. This is particularly evident on the first track, “All the Things You Are.” But nevertheless, nothing quite beats the horn sound on the title track, “Trumpet Ship.”  Favorite tracks: 1, 4

Powered by Drupal, an open source content management system